< Back to News

Driving Laws That Have Changed Since The Lockdown

๐—ฆ๐˜๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐—ฐ๐˜๐—ฒ๐—ฟ ๐—ฝ๐—ต๐—ผ๐—ป๐—ฒ ๐—ฝ๐—ฒ๐—ป๐—ฎ๐—น๐˜๐—ถ๐—ฒ๐˜€
Any driver caught holding their phone or satnav whilst driving could receive a ยฃ200 fine and six points on their licence.
๐—ฆ๐—บ๐—ฎ๐—ฟ๐˜ ๐— ๐—ผ๐˜๐—ผ๐—ฟ๐˜„๐—ฎ๐˜†๐˜€
It is now illegal to drive in a lane which has a red X sign overhead. If drivers are caught in a closed motorway lane, they could receive a fixed penalty of up to ยฃ100 and three points on their license.
๐—–๐—น๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐—ป ๐—”๐—ถ๐—ฟ ๐—ญ๐—ผ๐—ป๐—ฒ๐˜€
Throughout 2021, major UK cities with high emissions will see the introduction of โ€˜Clean Air Zonesโ€™, which champion electric and low-emission vehicles. The first city to see these changes will be Birmingham. By June, non-green motorists will have to pay ยฃ8 per day to drive anywhere within the A4540 Middleway ring-road. Throughout the year, Bath, Oxford, Leeds and Bristol will also start introducing charges.
๐— ๐—ข๐—ง ๐—ฐ๐—ต๐—ฎ๐—ป๐—ด๐—ฒ๐˜€
There were updates to the MOT defect categories in 2020 and a variety of new vehicle checks were added. These checks include under-inflated tyres, contaminated brake fluid and brake pad warning lights. Newer cars will also have their reversing lights and daytime running lights checked. Driving without a valid MOT certificate could see road users fined up to ยฃ1,000.
๐——๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐˜ƒ๐—ถ๐—ป๐—ด ๐—ถ๐—ป ๐˜๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—˜๐—จ
Everyone will need a green card, their logbook, and a GB sticker on their number plate. The card will prove the vehicle is fully insured and drivers can obtain them through their insurance provider.
๐—š๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐—ฒ๐—ป ๐—ฝ๐—น๐—ฎ๐˜๐—ฒ๐˜€
Owners of electric and zero-emission vehicles can now purchase the brand-new green number plates. This is an initiative designed to help promote green vehicles by making them more visible to others on the road and those with these plates will be given special privileges, such as access to cheaper parking and free entry into Low-Emission Zones and Clean Air Zones.
Back to top